Advocaten / Avocats / Lawyers

Wednesday, 09 January 2019

Brexit: no time to waste

Brexit will have a significant impact on all companies doing business with the UK. In particular, the consequences for customs and VAT will be tremendous. As recently emphasised by Minister De Croo, businesses should prepare for Brexit, taking into account a ‘worst case’ scenario, i.e. a no-deal hard Brexit scenario. As Tiberghien has recently expanded its Indirect Tax Team, we can offer in-depth support in preparing companies for Brexit.

When trading with UK partners, Brexit will lead to various tax burdens. In particular, Brexit will trigger various (negative) consequences for VAT and customs when importing from and exporting to the UK. Adequate planning is required to prepare companies for any scenario, including the worst case scenario of a no-deal hard Brexit.

Businesses should therefore check their current supply chains, verify the consequences of a (no-deal hard) Brexit on these supply chains and, if possible, consider which solutions are possible to limit the adverse effects of this type of Brexit. Tiberghien can offer a “Brexit scan” that allows business to have a clear view on their position and options.

In this context, we’d also like to draw your attention to the recent reinforcement of our Indirect Tax team with a.o. Jurgen Gevers, a highly specialized and experienced lawyer in the field of customs and excise duties.
Our team is available on request for a general outlook on the position of your company, possibly followed by a tailor-made ‘Brexit-scan’.

Please feel free to contact our VAT, customs and excise team (click here) should you have any questions or remarks.

Stijn Vastmans - Head of tax (stijn.vastmans@tiberghien.com)
Jurgen Gevers - Counsel (jurgen.gevers@tiberghien.com)
Stein De Maeijer - Senior Associate (stein.demaeijer@tiberghien.com)
Loulou Geboers - Associate (loulou.geboers@tiberghien.com)
Marouschka Gunzburg - Associate (marouschka.gunzburg@tiberghien.com)
Nils Vanhassel - Associate (nils.vanhassel@tiberghien.com)
Gert Vranckx - Associate (gert.vranckx@tiberghien.com)

Tiberghien Brussels

Tour & Taxis

Havenlaan|Avenue du Port 86C B.419
BE-1000 Brussels
T +32 2 773 40 00
F +32 2 773 40 55

info@tiberghien.com

Tiberghien Antwerp

Grotesteenweg 214 B.4
BE-2600 Antwerp
T +32 3 443 20 00
F +32 3 443 20 20

info@tiberghien.com

Tiberghien Ghent

Esplanade Oscar Van de Voorde 1
BE-9000 Gent
T +32 9 265 95 51

info@tiberghien.com

Tiberghien Hasselt

Koningin Astridlaan 35
BE-3500 Hasselt
T +32 11 57 00 13

info@tiberghien.com

Tiberghien Luxembourg

23, Boulevard Joseph II
LU-1840 Luxembourg
T +352 27 47 51 11
F +352 27 47 51 10

info@tiberghien.com